Award winners announced

18 October 2021
1 min read

{my}dentist has announced the 15 winners of its annual Excellence Awards which celebrate its teams and individuals across the UK. 

The awards were presented in a virtual ceremony on October 7. There were more than 800 nominations this year, a record number, recognising exceptional achievements across the business in the most extraordinary circumstances. 

A special award was given to {my}dentist’s Covid-19 Hero of the Year, which was won by Jimmy Greyling of {my}orthodontist St Ives. Jimmy, who has been qualified for 46 years, worked throughout lockdown providing triage by phone, then when practices reopened he worked non-stop to see as many patients as possible to relieve pain.   

Further recognition was given to East Lancashire area manager Heidi Helsdon, who was presented with the Chief Executive’s Award for Outstanding Excellence. Heidi received the award for her leadership in uniting her practice teams in raising funds for Dementia UK, {my}dentist's official charity partner. Heidi and her team have raised over £4k already for the charity and are completing 22 fundraising activities by the end of March 2022.  

{my}dentist chief executive, Tom Riall, said, “Our awards recognise the outstanding individuals and teams whose commitment to patient care and professional development continues to raise standards at {my}dentist and across the sector. 

“Throughout 2021, our colleagues have continued to work hard, continually adapting to ever changing guidance and circumstances as we started to return to routine dentistry. They have all made a huge difference to our patients every day and it's clear by the number of nominations we received that everyone at {my}dentist has risen to the challenge. 

“We received a record number of nominations and I congratulate our winners and each and every person who received an award nomination. They should be extremely proud of themselves.” 

The full list of Excellence Awards winners is as follows: 

  • Dentist of the Year – Jenia Mangarova, {my}dentist Rodden Road, Frome 
  • Young Dentist of the Year – Mustafa Makda, {my}dentist Broad Street Plaza, Halifax  
  • Orthodontist of the Year – Ioana Doina Vulcu, {my}orthodontist, The Crescent, Plymouth  
  • Practice Team of the Year – {my}dentist Broadstreet Plaza, Halifax 
  • Hygienist or Therapist of the Year – Shazra Huda, {my}dentist Ashby Road, Scunthorpe 
  • Orthodontic Therapist of the Year – Lisa Boyes, {my}orthodontist Love Your Smile, Leeds 
  • Practice Manager of the Year – Jessica Silvester, Orthoworld Southampton 
  • Dental Nurse of the Year – Lorraine Hanvey, Stunning Smiles Dental Centre, Portadown 
  • Student Dental Nurse of the Year – Connor Butters, {my}dentist Stanningly Road, Bramley 
  • Treatment Co-ordinator of the Year – Sarah MacBrayne, {my}dentist Station Road, St Ives  
  • Receptionist of the Year – Barbara Bolton, {my}dentist Union Road, Oswaldtwistle 
  • Field Team Member of the Year – Jo Bell, Contracts manager 
  • Support Centre Team of the Year – Facilities Helpdesk 
  • Covid-19 Hero of the Year – Jimmy Greyling, {my}orthodontist East Street, St Ives  
  • Chief Executive’s Award for Outstanding Excellence – Heidi Helsdon, Area Manager for East Lancashire